Established in July 2018 by proclamation of the NSW Government, the Far North West Joint Organisation (FNWJO) comprises the three (3) Shire Councils of Bourke, Cobar and Walgett. 

In total the Joint Organisation covers an area of some 110,000 square kilometers.

This area equates to some 13.5% of the total area of the State of NSW.

The strong contribution of mining, agriculture and tourism are major social and economic characteristics of the Far North West region.

A strong focus of the Joint Organisation has been the re - instatement of air services to Bourke, Cobar, Lightning Ridge and Walgett. Copies of Media Releases from the NSW Government and the FNWJO in respect of such services, as launched on 27 August 2019, are available here. 

What are Joint Organisations?

read more

What is the The Far North West Joint Organisation 2018

read more

Far North West Joint Organisation Executive Officer: 
Mr Greg Lamont

P: 0407 937 636

or send us an email using the form below